And so it begins!

I can’t believe there are only two sleeps left before I leave on my most awesome adventure. . . It feels like I’ve been planning this trip, or a version of it, forever.  I have been counting down at work daily since 120 days, and have been walking around the past week with a Cheshire cat grin. No doubt irritating the hell out of everyone.

I am going to keep a journal while I am gone, and each chance I get I will update this blog with my adventures. Hopefully I will upload some pictures as well (although I have not yet worked out how to use the camera, upload pictures, listen to music on my new phone, or locate the GPS, so lots to learn still before I go!).

I hope you enjoy reading about my adventures cycling through such exciting locations as Russia, Croatia, Slovakia, Italy, France, Spain and Portugal – to name a few! I am excited and a bit nervous as have never been to Europe, in fact the longest I have been away from NZ – or my children! – is 10 days.

However as said in a quote sent to me by a good friend today: “Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious ambiguity.” – Gilda Radner – an Emmy Award winning American actress.

I will be cycling an average of 100kms a day, and a total of 6,255 kms. The detailed plan for the trip can be found here.

See you in three months!!

Categories: Preparations | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “And so it begins!

  1. Wendy Cooper

    Good Luck Kaye! Have fun 🙂

  2. lizzy

    Buy buy mummy! Love you so much!

  3. Tracey

    Glad to hear you arrived all good Maamy! Sorry didn’t reply, ran out of credit. Love you, hope you are having fun! Love Tracey :0)

  4. Chris Lowry

    So how was your first day of sight seeing with Igor???? I am sure that now you are there your nerves will have settled so have heaps of fun!!! Chris

Leave a comment

