Day 143/164: Villa Amengual to Coyhaique – 146km

1587 meters climbing and 1751 down, and loose gravel.

I woke up still feeling stiff and sore and decided that I would take the lunch truck again today. It is a rest day tomorrow so this will give my aches and strains a chance to get better, and give my legs a well deserved rest before the last 3 weeks of the trip. I had to give Sue a bottle of my anti inflammatory pills as her neck has nearly seized up and she has run out. To get them I had to unpack my bag and managed to overlook repacking my toiletry bag. Thankfully one of the TDA staff found it and put it in the truck, and it was sitting next to the daily bags at the hotel. I keep my asthma medication as well as the usual toothpaste and soap etc in this bag.

The road side is covered the whole way with lupin flowers, mostly purple but also some white and pink lupins. Sue said she had also seen some white and blue combined lupins. With the yellow Scottish broom and the green trees and pastures as the back ground it is very pretty.

Fields of flowers

Fields of flowers

On the road today (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

On the road today (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Beautiful views

Beautiful views (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

The scenery continues to be stunning with rivers, lakes, snow capped mountains and water falls.

Gorgeous scenery

Gorgeous scenery

Taking in the view

Taking in the view (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

The town of Coyhaigue is bigger than expected. Quite a lots of shops, banks, and a large supermarket. The hotel room is nice, twice the size of the last rest day. It also has a balcony, a fridge and a bathroom with a bath and a plug🛁😀😀😀😀. One nice long soak coming up.

Dropping down to the rest day in Coyhaique.

Dropping down to the rest day in Coyhaique.

View of Coyhaique on our way in (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

View of Coyhaique on our way in (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

A group of us went to dinner at a restaurant that trip advisor said was amongst the best here, and one review said they had the best steak ever. I guess every place has its off night as my steak was overdone and tasteless. Sue and I wanted to order a cocktail but although they had them listed on the menu they didn’t have any of the ones we were interested in. However we had good conversation and a few laughs.

Just before we left I got really sore at the top of my leg, and had to stand up until we left. I managed to go to sleep ok, but it woke me up a few times during the night.

On the road today (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

On the road today (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Categories: Chile, South American Epic | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 143/164: Villa Amengual to Coyhaique – 146km

  1. Imad Aljanabi

    The place is so beautiful, wish you a great time Kaye.

Leave a comment

