Day 163/164: Rio Grande to Tolhuin / Lake Fango – 117km

594 kilometres climbing and 675 kilometres down. No gravel 😀😀😀

The first 65 kilometres were fantastic riding: fine weather, a tail wind, nice coastal views and rolling hills. In two and a half hours I was at the lunch truck. I was thinking at this rate I will be at camp nice and early. In a happy frame of mind I got back on my bike and got a couple of minutes down the road and sadly no more riding that day for my bike. I had a broken spoke and the wheel was wobbling! Not sure how it happened as it was fine all morning and I had checked my spokes before I left. Luis said he would be able to fix it at camp tonight so I will be able to ride it on the final riding day tomorrow. So for the second time this week I rode into camp on the lunch truck 😕.

Leaving Rio Grande (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Leaving Rio Grande (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Down towards Lago Faguamo (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Down towards Lago Fango (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

We camped at the side of a large lake called Lake Fango, at a camp made entirely out of recycled stuff. There are also some bottle trees which I was quite taken with. The tree is made out of a thick round piece of wood and then has big nails driven into it which the bottles go on. The owner has also made a theme park for children out of recycled stuff.

Bottle tree

Bottle tree

Receycled camp

Receycled camp

Camp!

Camp!

Having a look around I think NZ Heath and Safety inspectors would immediately shut it down. Dotted around the camp are wooden teepees and other wooden buildings like sheds that we could put our tents up in. Given how windy it can get, and that rain was possible, I slept in a tent in one. The shed was titled “Kaye’s hutch”.

"Kaye's Hutch"

“Kaye’s Hutch”

Jo's camp in the wind shelter (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Jo’s camp in the wind shelter (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

The lake is very pretty and there were a few other people staying at the camp ground. I saw people fishing but I did not see anyone swimming in it. There were a number of camp dogs sleeping around the place. A couple of dogs were quite well hidden in hollows in the ground that gave them good protection from the wind.

As we are staying at recycle camp we had been asked to dress up, with the theme of course being recycling. I spent the afternoon working on the item we are going to do at the end of ride party, and then threw something together for my recycling costume.

Me, Luis and Brett, in our costumes

Me, Luis and Brett, in our costumes

me and Rolf

Me and Rolf

Our last camp (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Our last camp (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

The last supper! (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

The last supper! (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Brett washing dishes one last time (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Brett washing dishes one last time (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Sue and I have worked on a song based on the 12 days of Christmas song tune, but instead “On the twelve days of our cycling tour, our leader gave to me”. Don’t worry those of you who have heard me singing, I am not going to be singing. We have recruited three of the other riders plus Sue to sing.

Tonight we had presentations and rider awards – I was awarded the Tour Nona (means grandma), for always looking after everyone on the tour, such as making sure they had warm clothes and medicine when they needed it.

bbfgb

Receiving my award

We watched a slide show that Britten from TDA had put together looking back over the past five and an half months. We have certainly done and seen some pretty awesome things.
Last night in a tent tonight 😀

Final campsite (Photo credit: Jo's Facebook page)

Final campsite (Photo credit: Jo’s Facebook page)

Final sunset, over Lago

Final sunset, over Lago Fango

Categories: Argentina, South American Epic | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Day 163/164: Rio Grande to Tolhuin / Lake Fango – 117km

  1. Liz

    Well done Kaye. Loved reading about it.

Leave a comment

