Day 130/164: Rest day in Salto de Jaja

It was really nice weather, clear blue skies. I got the tent out to dry and did some hand washing. I seem to get my new gortex jacket filthy but am loathe to put it in with the hotel laundry. I also hand washed my down jacket which was getting really grubby, which I also would not want to put into the hotel laundry.

I then spent some time catching up on emails and the blog. It is really difficult at camp if there is nowhere to sit, and I find trying to sit in my tent and type difficult, so often get a few days behind.

I then went for a walk up to the mini market about 10 minutes up the road to get some face cream and snack food. It is difficult to work out where you can go in the shop as some things you want are behind the counter.

Trying to get the shop assistants to help you is difficult as they are really good at avoiding eye contact! I have found however you get instant attention if you put foot in an area you are not meant to be in.

Once again it was difficult to buy face cream, I ended up buying Nivea face cream, but maybe it’s a night cream as it is really thick and leaves a deep white covering on your face.

I then went for a walk up to the waterfall, on one side of it which is open to the public. I was surprised how close you could get to it. I walked right up to it and got totally soaked by the spray. The other side is reserved only for the hotel. I tried to go to see the other side but the entrance was minded by a security guard who stopped me. I got round that later by going to the hotel;s restaurant for dinner, and then walking out of the back door of the restaurant up to the falls. I am really pleased I did as they were spectacular, much better than the other side although you could not get as close.

I had steak for dinner and nice Carmenera red wine. The Carmenera grapes are only grown in Chile I am told. It was nice.

I have managed to lose yet another pair of reading glasses . I am now back to only two pairs again.

Wine with dinner

Wine with dinner

Categories: Chile, South American Epic | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

